My evermounting materialism and anxiety

August 13, 2007

Really now, this whole packing thing is getting a little out of control.  I have decided I’m going to carry everything on, checking NOTHING.  My rule of thumb from travelling is it’s either carried on or lost.  However, this does present a problem in what exactly I’m going to pack everything in.  Naturally, Continental airlines has the exact measurements that my lugguage MUST NOT EXCEED OR I SHALL FACE INEVITABLE PENALTIES, FINES, AND POSSIBLY DEATH.  I find myself at Target, then at Fossil, then at Walmart, then on ebags.com, then frantically asking my friends and family for all their luggage.  What is it about going on trips that makes you feel like you need to get all new stuff? New clothes, new shoes, new luggage, new accessories…I mean come on, all that old stuff I had simply wouldn’t do the trick, now would it?

 I need a nap.

Leave a Reply

