España and me are best friends

August 25, 2007

Hola a todos,

There is so much to say, and simply not enough time.  But I will try my best to be a good little updater so my folks don´t worry and my friends don´t forget about me.

I had a great trip out here; completely flawless, really.  No baggage lost, all my planes on time.  There were even two Tech students on my trip that I got to know a little better.  That also worked out very well once we arrived in Madrid, because it turns out I had forgotten what the train station was called and how exactly to get there.  We rode the AVE, which everyone of course must experience, and then arrived safely in Sevilla, where we took a taxi to the Hotel Fernando III (which I recommend if you´d like to come visit…it is very nice!  And they have real butlers.)

After orientation and a few days of jet lag and staying out too late, I´m now in the company of my host family, whose kindness and hospitality are quite comforting.  Basically I´m going to highlight a few things about my trip.  If you want to know more, you´ll just have to come out here and experience it for yourself.

1) el cafe con leche: the most amazing coffee ever.  Better than Starbucks (which exists out here, by the way).  Everything in Europe is smaller, including the size of your coffee mug.  No venti out here, caffeine lovers.  But I don´t even want a venti.  I want cafe con leche.  The girls and I go to Cafe de las Indias, which is on a corner quite close to where I live.  I´ve already gotten the owner to recognize us, since we´ve been going there for a few nights this week.  And it´s great fun sitting outside, sipping my spanish latte, chattin with my girlfriends and watching the tiny cars drive by.  There is an atmosphere in Spain that is so unlike America.  I will try to explain it.  I wish we had it.

2) the euro: €€€€€, it is so €xpensive to live here.  It´s 1,5 € for my beloved cafe con leche, which equates to almost 3 US dollars.  Basically the prices, the numbers for items are the same in america (ex: 26€ for a shirt…seems pretty good, right?), but you take that 26 and multiply it by 1.4 and THEN see how much you´re spending.  Note to self: save more next time.

 3) el catedral y todas las obras de la ciudad: this city is OLD…there are walls still standing that were constructed before the time of Christ.  Every single street has something historic on it.  No kidding.

4) look at my pictures and prepare to be amazed

I love you all and I miss you.  I would love to hear from you, though.  As much as I love it out here, it would warm my heart to read an email from you or a little comment here and there.  Keep in touch!

3 Responses to “España and me are best friends”

  1. Valerie Says:

    Hey P! Glad you head that you discovered the cafe con leche. That stuff is awesome! They have it all over europe (and in cuba actually). In France it’s cafe au lait, in Cuba it’s cafe crema. As you know, being the coffee afficionado that you are, it’s all about the espresso.
    You need to do a post about your host family! We are all waiting to hear about them.
    Sounds like you are already having a blast. I’m glad you are settling in. Looking forward to the pictures!!
    love you! Val

  2. kriskoreena Says:

    Yeah, no lost luggage!!! (no Jude yet, will let you know!)

  3. Valerie Says:

    Hey Paige! Glad you head that you discovered the cafe con leche. That stuff is awesome! They have it all over Europe (and in Cuba actually). In France it’s cafe au lait, in Cuba it’s cafe crema. As you know, being the coffee aficionado that you are, it’s all about the espresso.
    You need to do a post about your host family! We are all waiting to hear about them.
    Sounds like you are already having a blast. I’m glad you are settling in. Looking forward to the pictures!!
    love you! Val


Leave a Reply

